Infiniti FX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using the PAC unit for a few months now and I notice that there is a considerable amount of electrical whining noise when the volume is up, but the source audio has a quiet part. I have an MP3 player and XM connected to the PAC, and they all share the same source of power (from the back of the stock radio). I also get sound bleeding through from AUX 1 to AUX 2.

Is anyone else experiencing this? Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Phil

·
Premium Member
10,642 Posts
Cant say with the FX piece, but we use other PAC interfaces for GM and others and I have seen similar problems, especially with higher volume levels. Not a perfect product yet I guess.

·
Registered
4,053 Posts
PhilP69 said:
I've been using the PAC unit for a few months now and I notice that there is a considerable amount of electrical whining noise when the volume is up, but the source audio has a quiet part. I have an MP3 player and XM connected to the PAC, and they all share the same source of power (from the back of the stock radio). I also get sound bleeding through from AUX 1 to AUX 2.
The electrical whining noise sounds like a bad ground to me. Do you get whining on both Aux1 and Aux2? Does the whining get more high pitched when you step on the gas?

As for bleeding, it may be the RCA cables you are using, if you are running them in tandem through the car and they are not properly shielded I think it is quite possible you'd see symptoms like that... actually this could be the cause for your #1 problem too.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ShadyJC said:
The electrical whining noise sounds like a bad ground to me. Do you get whining on both Aux1 and Aux2? Does the whining get more high pitched when you step on the gas?