Infiniti FX Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When should you do your first wax job on a new FX? I just picked mine up last night and the dealer said they put on a coat of "light wax". When do I need my first real wax job - now or wait 6 months? Thanks

·
Registered
4,096 Posts
if its a brand new car, you should wait about 30 days to wax (and i mean if its BRAND new --- check the build date).

you might want to get a clay bar and first dawn wash the original wax off, clay bar the car, and then put on the new wax (or zaino :)

·
Registered
848 Posts
I've never used a clay bar before, though I've heard many of you mention it. Anything I should know about using one, other than what would come in the instructions? Are they easy/hard to use? Thanks in advance.

Don

·
Registered
4,096 Posts
you want to clay the car to take off all of the surface contaiminants. you would want to do this when you are looking to cmpletely strip the wax and crap off your paint for the purposes of working with a prisitne surface for waxing or zaino. you only really need to do this once in a great while since you are rarely stripping the entire car of wax, etc....

to clay :

(1) dawn wash to get off all wax

(2) clay the car

(2a) make a solution of water and just a touch of NON DAWN soap (or zaino carwash)

(2b) mist it on the clean car and wipe the bar back and forth in linear motions over the wet area. if the bar sticks, then you need to lubricate more.

(2c) do all of the painted surfaces.

(3) re wash off all of the clay bar oils

believe it or not, even tho the bar is small, claying the entire FX will take less time than a hand wash. once you put lubricant down, it slides very easy and you can cover a lot of area fast.

·
Registered
4,053 Posts
FromHereToInfiniti said: