Infiniti FX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am curious as to people's responses on MAC vs. Windows. I am considering getting rid of my "Microsoft-garbage" and replacing it with a MAC. Anything I should know about MACs? What is a good source of information (websites) for MACs? My budget is approx. $1500-$2000 including monitor... Please advice. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I'm not claiming to be an expert on the subject but I'm a Windows Engineer by trade and a MAC user at home. They both have their inherent advantages. The main reason I use a MAC at home is, in my opinion, they are much more stable, reliable and the lack of constant patches, updates and virus attacks is very refreshing.

Now that Apple makes an affordable solution for the home user, Windows no longer has a price advantage. The only real advantage Windows holds is greater market penetration which in turn gives you a few more vendor and software options. This, however, is changing.

Also, MAC users are more like a cult and tend to have smaller but more rabid support groups. For power users this is an advantage.

As far as websites for Mac information. If it's within the forum rules, here are a few.

http://www.macworld.com/
http://g5support.com/group/
http://www.macosrumors.com/

·
Registered
252 Posts
If you're up to the challenge, you could go with Linux and spend the extra money on better hardware <insert shameless linux plug here>. If you want to stay more mainstream, get a Mac.

If you plan on using it for alot of games, Windows is still the way to go just because the selection is so much greater. The Mac OS is so much more solid and ships with alot of very useful software right out of the box. Even simple things like "themeing" the desktop M$ wants you to pay extra for (although there are ways around that :) but you get my point).