Infiniti FX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wassup? Got my Injen RD1995 from UPS today. Was going to wait until the weekend to put it in...but I caved! 8)
My initial impressions:

The build quality is excellent. No el cheapo plastic, all polished and pretty. The parts go together great. Well thought out and engineered by Injen.

The instructions were adequate, not stellar. But, even a hack like me managed to get it together. I have no wrenching experience at all!

The full CAI filter tucks into the fender well. As Injentech said, it is a good 2 feet off the ground. As for the dreaded hydrolock? Well, a midget has a better chance of becoming president than you getting hydrolock with this CAI. The whole floor is covered except for a two inch diameter hole. However, if you look at the front of your FX there is a large lip underneath, I guess to keep water away from that hole. Seems like it should do the trick. Now if you try to fjord a stream you are going to have some problems with the CAI but that will just be one of many problems should you decide to try that!

No one warned me that the MAF sensor uses Torx bolts! I had to take them off with pliers! I gotta get a torx wrench tomorrow!

Exhaust growl is definately louder at lower RPMs. I am nixing my plans to get an aftermarket exhaust. The increased airflow really makes the stock exhaust sound like a monster! More than adequate for my needs at this point. Aggresive sound at a moderate volume.

Engine seems to rev a little quicker. Intake has a distinct growl to it.

Engine dynamics have absolutely changed for the better. To what extent I may need another day or two for that. The first five minutes of driving were so-so. The last ten minutes were great! Maybe my ECU was getting acquainted?

All in all, a great entry level mod. I would post pics but Injentech already has. My setup looks exactly the same.

Nice job Injen! Dave, whats the hold up? We gotta compare notes!

8)