Infiniti FX Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All of this talk about the new Injen CAI has once again awakened my desire to do this sort of mod. Over the few months that I've been hanging around here I've read a number of posts which mention hydrolock in regard to the CAI mod but I've been unable to find any that go beyond mentioning it. I'd be real grateful if a few of you could weigh in on this and tell me why I should be concerned or, better yet, why I should stop thinking about it and just do the mod.

I'm new to this whole mod thing and largely uneducated when it comes to doing more than changing my fluids and filters so go easy on me if I'm asking something completely idiotic.

·
Premium Member
2,609 Posts
In a nutshell, hydrolock is when water (or any liquid) enters the engine cylinder(s). Water in the cylinder will create extra compression pressures and cause damage. There are a few ways this can occur but the references here are talking about entrance via the air induction system. Placement and size of the air intake system can therefore be very important. For instance, some cars draw their air in from the engine compartment so hydrolock is not much of an issue. Other cars, especially sports cars, draw in cold air close to the ground and in the front of the hood -- and therefore risk swallowing water from rain or splashing water. The intake on the FX sits higher up and posses less risk, but still has some minor vulnerability (small amounts of water are typically vaporized (I think) and pose no harm). Modifying the FX with a more efficient CAI adds a little more risk. The repair for this type of damage is very expensive.

·
Registered
3,948 Posts