Infiniti FX Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been thinking about adding Sirius to my 05 FX35 - Been reading up on it and people keep mentioning Grubbs. What is that? Is it Grubbs.com??? Secondly - I'm not good at installs and electronics...is this something any joe schmo can do? Sorry for the dumb question.

·
Registered
509 Posts
I have Siruis in my 05 FX45. It came installed from the factory, but I changed out the antenna from factory to a Sirius Mini (stealth) antenna. I believe the install is fairly easy for a novice, but not for someone who has never installed anything. If you order from Grubbs, make sure you get the mini antenna. They have great detailed step by step install instructions available for download from their site.

Your other alternative is to go back to your dealer and ask if they will honor the dealer install upgrade price. It might be worth the extra $$ just to have them do it. Once again GET THE MINI Antenna.

Here's a link with pictures concerning this subject: http://www.infinitifx.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3165

Other links are available on the install subject using the search function under Audio/Video/Navigation. Good luck. 8)

·
Premium Member
1,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for all the help :)

Thanks for the Grubbs link especially.

·
Premium Member
1,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Is there a Difference between the XM Micro Satellite Antenna
and the Terk Sirius Low Profile Antenna? Theres about a $20 difference in price~ any pros or cons?

·
Registered
4,096 Posts
if you buy a kit from grubbs, make sure you get all of the stuff you need.

(1) sat receiver box
(2) antenna - preferable mini or micro antenna to do the stealth install
(3) N-Bus adapter cable (allows you to plug the receiver into the stock wiring to the head unit)
(4) antenna splitter. this is needed to split the single antenna line into two inputs to the receiver.