Infiniti FX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all!

I wanna start my subwoofer and amp project soon and was wondering if I could get some help from the resident audio gurus out there.

I want to put this sub into my car above the spare tire:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/p...B,00.html?compName=PNA_ProductDetailComponent

It's a shallow mount (4" mounting depth) 12 inch subwoofer rated at 4Ohms, 1200W max, 300W nominal.

Anyways I'm not very good with all this Ohm-age and watt-age stuff. If someone could explain to me how I would choose an amp for this sub that would be compatible with the stock head unit it would be great!

Is nominal Wattage the same as RMS wattage? I was looking at this amp:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-grgx4G...=0&cc=01&g=130&id=essential_info&i=500MRDM300

It's a pretty small unit and I was planning on putting it under the passenger seat or somewhere hidden.

Anyways my goal is to place a sub much like Shajan did so that I can keep my spare tire. I like to keep my cargo space. I also want something with more kick and I think this 12" will do it. It's a brand new sub that has just been released (shops don't even have them in stock yet) but once they do I plan on getting it. I'll be doing most of the install myself minus a few things (cutting out the circle in my floor board, etc.)

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to reading all your replies!

Andrew

·
Registered
123 Posts
Hi Andrew, that sub looks impressive.

I'm by no means an audio expert but just a hobbyist but here are my suggestions.

Yes, 300 is the RMS or continuous wattage it can handle. I'd probably get an amp pushing atleast 200 WRMS for that sub though 150W may be enough. More is better to counter distortion.

One question, how do you plan on holding the sub and the spare down? That was the main reason I went with 2 6.5" 'coz that way I can use the factory screw to hold down the spare and the sub.