Infiniti FX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post, so nice to meet all of you. I have posted this on some other forums I joined, so if you are also on those, forgive me - I don't usually do that, but I need to know by tomorrow when I'm going to buy it.

I'm a car guy and I'm not afraid of work. That being said the most engine work I've done is a few timing belts and chains, and yanking out balance shafts to make the engine rev faster (Commonly done for the Dodge SRT-4). I've been wrenching on cars for about 18 years now.

What I'm ultimately trying to find out is if the v8 will last a long time if it is currently blowing bluish smoke on startup and revs, and uses a lot of oil. I did read the oil consumption thread below, but it has been a while and although there was some speculation, it seemed like only one person posted back that the seafoam worked.

Here's all the details:

2003 FX45 with 115,000 miles.

3 owners: One had it for 12 years, other had it for 3, and the current owner only has had it for 4 months.

Why selling: He's in the military and needs to move. I believe him, I can tell he's in the military.

Maintenance: Current owner does his own maintenance. He has a few really nice cars including a M3. He talks like he knows what he's doing. He put a flowmaster exhaust on it.

Engine condition: It looks really nice under the hood. It's not detailed, but not dirty. The perfect amount of dust so you could see if there are any leaks. None found.

Engine sounds good. Like a sewing machine. No ticks, vibrations, knocks or anything. Just a good sized v8 happily idling. Revs sound nice. It did have either a stumble or bark on a rev, but it didn't stall.

Overall condition: Seems like the guy really takes good care of it. Has the cracked dash and the driver's seat fore/aft problem, but everything else is very clean, looks great.