2003 FX35 High Oil Consumption... New Member Also! - Infiniti FX Forum : FX35, FX45 and FX50 Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-13-2012, 06:35 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
2003 FX35 High Oil Consumption... New Member Also!

Hey guys, Im new to the Infiniti community! I recently purchased a 2003 FX 35. It just flipped to 100K but overall the vehicle is in great shape! The car does not smoke or leak any oil, but this morning I did an oil change and it was about 3 quarts low. The last change I did was 3,500 miles ago, always Mobile 1 Full Synthetic and Mobile 1 Filter. I know these cars are notorious for this, my 2003 350z had the same issue just less severe. Any ideas on where I should start as far as correcting the issue? I normally do 5w30, should i Try 10w30 next time around? I drive enough to change the oil about every two months so my vehicles do take a large amount of abuse, but they are well cared for. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-15-2012, 02:52 AM

Re: 2003 FX35 High Oil Consumption... New Member Also!

i just checked in with my mechanic, last time i lost 1.5 quarts. NO leaks at all. no burning oil ive never smelt anything remotely close. and lastly, no cel.

that was around 3500k. ive heard to use 5w40 valvoline!